Thanksgiving 2013

Wow, these last few days have absolutely FLOWN by!

 

Starting with Wednesday:

My stats professor adamantly refused to cancel class on Wednesday.  Seeing as it was at 1pm and my Philosophy professor did cancel class, I was left from 1:30pm on Tuesday to 1pm on Wednesday with very little to do.  Ugh.  Of course, I had a philosophy paper to write, which I did end up starting, but it just seemed like a waste of time when I could be home prepping for Thanksgiving.  I tried and tried to make excuses for myself to skip stats and just go home on Tuesday like the rest of the student body, but I ultimately decided I needed to be in class.  My professor doesn’t take attendance, so that wasn’t the issue.  The quizzes/tests/homework are pretty much based all on her lectures, so not going would have made 10x more work for me in the long run. *sigh*

On the bright side, I did get to Power Circuits on Tuesday and I did a stat. bike workout on Wednesday morning.  I can tell I’m getting a lot stronger muscle-wise – especially in my arms! 😀

Many of the students went home early and I didn’t have a ton to do, so Dad decided to drive up and pick me up as opposed to me driving home by myself.  My parents were mainly worried about the holiday traffic and me not having a lot of busy highway experience.  So, after loading up the car, Dad and I went to brunch at Sippers!  It was really cold (in the low 50s!), so a nice latte and a hot breakfast sandwich sounded perfect to both of us.  We both enjoyed every last bite 🙂

Our tummies full, we drove back to campus, I went to class, and Dad went to go wander around and explore until it was time to leave.  As soon as class was over, we hopped in the car and made our way home!  The traffic didn’t end up being that bad and didn’t seem that much heavier than normal.

When we got home we spent the rest of the evening baking and cooking for Thursday.

Whew!  What a day.

 

Thanksgiving:

It was hosted at our house this year, as always, and the day started with a nice 3 miler.  I really really REALLY wanted to do more, but it was just 3 days before race day and I knew that I needed to stick with 3. 😦  I took it easy on the pace and finished feeling like I hadn’t even earned my Thanksgiving indulgences…  I ate them anyway 😀  I did some abs exercises afterwards, too.

When I got back, I quickly ate a cinnamon roll (from the previous evening) and a small green smoothie.  The rest of the morning was spent watching the parade, taking Daly for a walk, and doing various other preparations.  At 1pm, still without a shower, I helped my friend bring her dishes over that she contributed.  Her family went out of town for the holiday and she couldn’t go because of work, so we took her in for the holiday immediately!  After helping her, I quickly showered (finally…) and then, around 4pm it was meal time!  I was too busy prepping and visiting to take pics, but our spread consisted of:

  • turkey
  • gravy
  • dressing
  • cranberry sauce
  • green beans
  • sweet potato casserole
  • mashed potatoes
  • lime cheese salad
  • rolls
  • quinoa salad

For some reason this year, everybody wanted to contribute a dish, which was fabulous so that my mom didn’t have to wear herself out cooking everything.

For dessert we had:

  • pumpkin pie
  • cherry pie
  • cranberry oatmeal bars

Feeling absolutely stuffed, Dad, sister, and I went on a short walk after everyone left and went to bed happy!

 

Friday:

Friday was spent doing homework (stats, philosophy).  My stats professor still assigned us homework!  Some due on Friday at 10am.  I was not. happy.  Alas, I did it anyway…

The best part of the day, however, was when we got our Christmas tree!  We went to the same place we get our tree every year and it didn’t disappoint. We got a beautiful tree and we can’t wait to decorate it when I get back home in just over a week!

On the way home, we stopped at Starbucks and got some drinks.  I didn’t want one to myself, but I did have a few sips of Mom and Dad’s.

The rest of the evening was spent relaxing and watching Hallmark Christmas movies. 😀

 

Saturday:

By Saturday, I was really getting antsy for some physical exercise and just wanted to have a good workout!  I knew I would run 10x better, though, if I just stayed put and saved up my energy for Sunday.  To promote some sitting, Mom and I went to the movies to see Frozen.  It was really cute!  I had a few handfuls of her popcorn, too.

After the movie, we came home, ate a quick lunch, and then Dad and I went off to race expo!  We didn’t actually need to go the expo because I already had my packet, but I just love expos so much that I wanted to get in the “race mood.”  It was hosted at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor’s Complex and we had a great time looking at products and drinking Natalie’s juice samples.  If you ever get the chance, get their juice.  Natalie’s makes the best!

When we got home, I made some lovely macaroni and cheese to carb load for dinner and was to bed early-ish for my early wake-up call.

 

I’ll be back with a full recap of Space Coast 1/2 Marathon 2013 soon!

Leave a Reply

