Fast Five & Narly Nine

Cute title, huh?  I couldn’t think of a better adjective that started with N!

 

This weekend was another wonderful one spent at home and included lot of exercise!

 

On Saturday, I got up to do a 5 mile run.  Since it was a shorter run and a week before the 1/2, I decided to make it speedy.  Mom was biking behind me again, but she didn’t tell me what speed I was going until close to the end.  I just went as fast as I thought I could maintain for 5 miles.  At the end she told me I ended up going consistently 6.6-6.8 mph and I finished in 44 minutes!!!  That might not seem fast to you, but that’s REALLY good for me.  I am not a fast runner, by any means, but I’m getting better. 🙂  I was so proud of myself for making it through that speedy run.  It gives me hope that I will be able to finish next year’s 1/2 marathon in under 2 hours!  Eeeek!

The rest of the day was spent planning the Thanksgiving menu, grocery shopping, and eating 😀  I ❤ planning.

 

Sunday was wonderful, too, as Dad and I participated in a 90 minute spin class that they had at the gym.  It wasn’t as hard as 2 hour spin from a few weeks ago (obviously), but it was still pretty challenging.  I had a bowl of oatmeal first thing when I got up because spin wasn’t until 11:45am, but I needed a snack before we left.  Sadly, I ate too much and it weighed pretty heavy on me for the first 30 minutes.  I had toast with too much nut butter…  Also, my HRM didn’t start reading until 45 minutes in!  I am really getting frustrated with it and I’m wondering if I just need a new one.  Hopefully it will be working for Sunday!  In spin, we did 3 different styles: a rotation between positions for the first 30 minutes, tabata intervals for the second 30, and some hilly stuff for the last 30.  It was great and I was a sweaty mess by the end.

I spent the rest of the day doing homework and getting stuff organized for Monday.

 

Fabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

