Busiest Wednesday Ever!

Yesterday was quite the day!

It all started when I woke up at 6:30am to get in a quick run before the hussel and bussel of the day started.  It was still dark and pretty cloudy at 7am when I planned to leave, so I decided to wait it out for a half hour to see if it lot light enough outside for me to go.  Meanwhile, I pittered around the room, got dressed, and tried to talk myself out of going.  But, alas, by 7:30am, there was enough sunlight outside to warrant me going to run and if I didn’t go then, I wouldn’t be able to go at all.  So run I did!  I did a fast 3.6 miles.  I’m not sure how long it took me because I didn’t wear my heart rate monitor and the stoplights messed up my timing, but I’m guessing it took me about 32 minutes.  It felt fast to me!

When I got back, I drank my smoothie (my favorite combo right now is yogurt + milk + banana + berries + pineapple + spinach) and ate a muffin, quickly showered, stretched a bit, then it was time to go to the first concert of the day.

 

Kid’s Concert:

At 10:30am, the orchestra did a concert for elementary school children from the area.  I would have LOVED to see a college orchestra when I was in elementary school!  The auditorium was packed with little kids who seemed to all be bursting with excitement.  While all the kids were filing in and we were waiting to start, a few of the string players did some improv with some percussionists to keep the kids entertained.

Unfortunately, I could only play in the first two pieces because I had to get to Philosophy, but it was still fun!  Whenever the piece had a significant silence, pause, or movement change, the children would start boisterously applauding!  Ha ha!  It was funny because they didn’t know they weren’t supposed to clap.

 

I rushed off to Philosophy (I was 10 minutes late, but he just started so it was okay), then headed to lunch.  My smoothie didn’t do much for holding me over because I was absolutely starving when I got to the dining hall.

 

Later, I went to stats, and directly after, I went to a living-learning community meeting for next year.  I’m think of living in the college of health community next year (it’s just one of my options), and this was supposed to be an information session.  I say “supposed to be” because I was the ONLY ONE who showed up!  Why does this always happen to me…  The lady basically just asked me my major and what I wanted to get out of the community if I joined and she gave me an application.  I was out in less than 15 minutes.  *sigh*

 

I headed back to my room, did stats homework, talked to Mom for a bit, then went to dinner.  I had chickpea stew which was really good!  So many chickpeas! ❤

 

Evening Concert:

By 7:30pm, the orchestra was on stage playing our Mozart concert.  I was really excited because we got to play in the big performance hall and not just the theater at the back.  All the sounds sounded 10 times better in there!  We played several pieces, one of which was a violin concerto with an 11 year old from Tampa.  He was SO good, but my stand partner and I could not get over his cuteness.  Adorable.  It was amazing how much he could phrase and put in so much expression at such a young age.

However, my favorite piece that we played was the piano concerto.  We got to play we the university’s pianist and she was so incredibly nice and you could tell she was extremely passionate about what she did.  Her playing was phenomenal!

I played for 2 straight hours and by the end my left shoulder and low back was killing me by the end.  It was so worth it, though. 🙂

 

When I got back to the room, I crashed and burned and went straight to bed!

Leave a Reply

