12.5 Miles

This weekend was another wonderful and relaxing one spent at home thanks to no homework!  I didn’t even realize I didn’t have any until I started thinking about what I had to do on my way home.

On Friday night I did something completely out of character for me – I stayed up until 11:30pm watching a movie (Cheaper by the Dozen 2, if you were wondering).  That might not be late for you, but it’s late for me!

On Saturday, I ran some errands with Dad and just did random things.  It was lovely to just lounge around a bit!  In the evening I made some pumpkin dinner rolls as a trial for Thanksgiving.  I found the recipe online and I meant to 1/2 the recipe, but mistakenly forgot, so we ended up with 36 dinner rolls!  At least they were good 🙂  They are going to be lovely as a side on Thanksgiving!

 

Sunday was much more eventful as I had 12.5 miles on the docket for 1/2 marathon training.  I was nervous about this run because it was my last long run before the race and I was on my feet the entire day before (shopping + baking on tile floor!)  I woke up in the morning and they felt tired because of all the standing, but I couldn’t put off the run.  It was now or never.  So, I got dressed, ate 2 slices of pumpkin cinnamon swirl bread, and was off with Mom riding behind me.

I have figured out that I prefer to have 2 slices of plain toast rather than 1 slice with nut butter.  The nut butter seems to sit heavy on my stomach.  Whatever works!  Plus, this bread is low fiber and it’s not whole wheat, which makes for quick energy as opposed to the high fiber wheat bread that I usually eat.

As an early birthday present, Dad got some compression sleeves for me the day before while we were out so I could try them out on my long run.  I was really excited to try them because I have heard wonderful things about them and how they reduce soreness and increase energy.  I got some lovely bright pink ones 🙂  When I was all dressed in my favorite running shirt, shorts, shoes with special running socks, visor, heart rate monitor, hand bottle, and compression sleeves, I felt like one of “those” runners!  You know, the ones that look “officia”l because they have all the shmancy equipment.  It was awesome 😀

I walked a little bit to warm up, then started running.  The first 5 miles were HARD.  I don’t know if it was the sleeves or simply because I had been on my feet the previous day, but my calves were screaming at me!  They just felt so sore.  I told Mom at about mile 3 that they were really bothering me and she suggested taking the compression sleeves off, but I really wanted to stick with them.  Almost as soon as I hit mile 5, they stopped hurting.  Like flipping a switch!  Woo hoo!

At mile 6 I took out my Cliff Shot gel (mocha) and slowly went through it for the next 6.5 miles.  I have come to the realization that I am going to have to take water at the stations on race day, because I had to have Mom fill mine up with her water 1/2 way through.  Hopefully that will work!

The second 1/2 of the run was much easier than the first, amazingly, and I had that lovely long-run feeling when I finished.  It felt so. good.  I finished in 2:01, too!  Which puts me at finishing around 2:06 if I keep that pace.  I am a little scared because Mom tells me what pace I’m going so I know if I need to speed up or slow down.  Hopefully I can just feel it without her telling me on race day…

 

I am so glad that I finished strong despite a rough start!

I’m off to go to a showing of Forks Over Knives!

Leave a Reply

