Fabulous Day Off

Monday was such a wonderful and exciting day!

 

Morning:

Mom, Dad, and I were all up bright and early at 6:30am because we had plans for them to drive me back to school, but instead of just dropping me off, we all explored parts of the city instead.  Because we had Veteran’s Day off, I didn’t have classes and Dad didn’t have work, so it a wonderful day off.  We were originally planning on leaving at around 7am, but we were all pretty tired and in favor of a more relaxing morning, so we opted to wait until 8 or 9am to leave.  With the later leave time, I packed up my school stuff and went on a walk with Dad and Daly.  It was PERFECT walking weather!

We had plans to get brunch at a restaurant on the road, so I had a small snack when we got back from our walk to hold me over.  I mixed 3/4 cup of cottage cheese, a heaping tbsp pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, Truvia, and 1 tbsp ground flax.  I ate about 3/4 of it and gave the rest to Dad.  I ate a banana, too.

After relaxing for half an hour and watching part of a Christmas Hallmark movie (love them!), we packed up the car and hit the road.

We stopped at Cracker Barrel after about 30 minutes and I immediately knew I was going to like my meal because they had a nice-looking wholesome menu.  I got the french toast with a citrus-y yogurt sauce and it was so. good.  I had Mom’s scrambled eggs too.  A lot of times, restaurants make “healthy” menus, but they are really just chemicals and skimpy portions sizes.  This was perfect.  In total, I had the french toast plate, Mom’s 2 scrambled eggs, coffee with 1% milk and 1 packet of sugar, and 1/2 of one of Mom’s pancakes.  Mmmmmm.  I would definitely eat that again. and again. and again.

 

We traveled for another 2 hours on the highway and then we were there!  We drove around, scoping out places for me to live next year – and I can say I think we have some very good options.  It was so fun!  After looking at places to live, we went to Publix to get my groceries for the week and snacked on a few Popchips.  I probably had about 3/4 of a serving.  I didn’t need them!  We then had to make a Target run because Mom left her sunglasses somewhere and we couldn’t find them!  (I eventually found them later, but we don’t know how we missed them when we looked earlier…)  We had to get her a new pair, so while she looked for some, I wandered around the grocery section…obviously 😀  We ended up buying some trail mix and some candy, too, but that Christmas candy and it was a crazy-good price.  And they were in cute little individual packets, so no over-eating!

After leaving Target, we decided to go ahead and have late lunch/early dinner.  Because we ate breakfast late and it was a big meal, we only got hungry for our next meal around 3:30pm!

 

Early Dinner:

Dad requested a couple days before this trip that he wanted to go to Salt Life the next time he came up to visit.  We found the restaurant when we were touring the campus last year and all had such wonderful meals there, so we all agreed to go.  It’s located on the beach and has a wonderful beach-y atmosphere and amazing food.  The last time we went, I got a turkey burger (I don’t eat seafood) and it was really good, but I wanted something different this time.  I ordered a Portabella Veggie Sandwich and it was AMAZING.  I was worried that it wouldn’t be very substantial because it was a “veggie” sandwich, but it was so. good.

Photo

Yes, that was one sandwich.  And I consumed it all.  It was: grilled portabella mushrooms, roasted red peppers, lettuce, tomato, melty havarti cheese, and aioli all between two slices of ciabatta bread!  My goodness, I would order that again in a heart beat.

And I saved just enough room for…

Photo

Fried plantains!  I LOVE fried plantains and these were crispy and absolutely delicious.  I split them with Mom.

 

After eating, we made our way back to Town Center and window shopped for about half an hour before Mom and Dad had to get on the road.  I went back to my room, got some things done, and went to bed.  It was a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

