11 miles

I did it!  I wanted to go back to bed SO. BAD. this morning, but I did it.  I completed my 11 mile training run.  Whew!  It was a tough one, too.

 

Workout:

I was up at 6:15am and was eating a 2 slices of pumpkin cinnamon toast with Barney Butter at 6:30am.  I had a little less than a tbsp of BB on one slice and ate the other slice plain.  This is seriously the tastiest thing ever.  I felt really tired this morning despite getting over 8 hours of sleep 2 nights in a row.  I think it was all the walking around and being on my feet more two days in a row.  I had planned on leaving by 7am, but I felt like I needed more time to digest and warm up so we (Mom biked with me) left around 7:30am.  For warm up today I did a little stretching, some squats, and some lunges around the house.  I think it helped a little, but not as much as I would have thought… 

I wanted to try a new route in an effort to keep myself entertained, but the plan back-fired a bit.  Instead of doing a bunch of ins-and-outs, we did an out-and-back route to somewhere I had never run before.  We do this route on our bikes all the time and really like it, but it was quite different on foot.  Much more boring.  Grrr!  Good to note.

I was so mad at myself because I forgot to turn on my HRM until mile 3!  UGH!  I was so disappointed, but Mom had a timer on her bike so it wasn’t too much of a loss.  I did turn it on when I remembered, though, and my HR was around 170 most of the time, going a little above/below in certain conditions.  There was a pretty good headwind, too, which I didn’t appreciate until we turned around.  There was no breeze at all on certain roads on the way back and it was hot.  The route was only shaded for a small portion and I really began to feel over-heated at one point.  All I could think about the entire run was a huge glass of ice cold water.  The water in my hand bottle was warm 😦

At mile 5 I started a fuel gel and took bits of it for the rest of the run.  I had a vanilla bean Gu last week for 10 miles, but wasn’t really impressed.  It was just okay.  Today I used a Cliff Mocha gel and LOVED it.  It has a “litter leash” so you aren’t stuck holding onto the ripped-off part of the package.  That was really appreciated!  I also liked the taste.  Some gel shots are really unappealing and are only good because they give you a little energy.  I really liked the taste of this one, though.  This particular flavor also has caffeine in it, which is a good bonus.  I’m not really sure if that helped any more than if I had not had caffeine, but I don’t think it hurt.

I think I have finally gotten the hang of taking the gel shots!  I have a love/hate relationship with them.  I love them because they make me feel better and give me some energy.  I hate them because they are all sticky in my mouth, are super sweet, and I have to carry them in my hand.  BUT, I have finally mastered them!  If I just take a bit of one and immediately swallow it and not really taste it in my mouth, they are much less sticky and easier to get down.  If I taste it more, it can get caught in my throat and make it hard to swallow and breathe, but just taking it really quickly helps alleviate some of that.

That gel shot definitely helped, but the run was still hard.  When I started out, Mom told me I was going 6.5 mph, which is a little higher than my goal pace and I didn’t want to start out to quickly.  I slowed down, but it felt SO slow.  After a couple miles I was able to sense my pace more and keep it at a consistent 6.3/6.4 mph.  I did have to remind myself several times, though, to not slow down and keep up my pace.

I ultimately finished in 1:47!  Right on pace 🙂

 

Breakfast:

When we got back, I got that big glass of ice water and a banana while I made breakfast.

Photo

2 slices cinnamon raisin Ezekiel toast with a smidge of I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (probably about 1/2 tbsp) + 2 eggs with about 2 tbsp Italian cheese.  This is my favorite post-run breakfast!  Enjoyed out on the back porch.

 

After eating, I cleaned up the kitchen, showered, stretched, and got down to work on my Philosophy essay.  After just an hour and a half I finished it!  Woo hoo!

 

Snack:

I got hungry around 1:30pm, but we were eating lunch/dinner at 3pm with sister when she got off work, so I just wanted a snack.

I had an apple with PB2.  I would have had regular pb, but that sounded a bit too heavy since we would be eating soon.

 

I did some stuff around the house until “dinner” at 3pm.

 

Dinner:

Photo  Photo

Mom’s parmesan chicken, green beans made with bacon (weak-at-the-knees good…) and sprinkled with grated parmesan, and 1/2 sweet potato with cinnamon and a laughing cow cheese wedge stirred in!

 

After dinner, I helped clean up (ate another serving of green beans) and made cookies for my family.  Oatmeal raisin and oatmeal chocolate chip!  I had a handful of dark chocolate chips while making the batter – I ate way too many (which I stole a couple bites of, too)!

I got to practice viola this evening too!  I don’t get as much time as I’d like to practice during the week, so I enjoyed playing tonight.

 

Now, I’m off to go get ready for bed and pack my stuff up for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

