Picture-less Day

We have the house open on this beautiful November Saturday!  It could be slightly cooler for my liking, but it’s still wonderful 😀

This morning I laid in bed for FOREVER just trying to figure out what I wanted to make for breakfast.  I was in a pancake mood, but I don’t have the best recipe…I thought about toast with eggs and fruit, but I will be having that tomorrow after my 11 mile long run…I thought about oatmeal because I never get stove-top oats at school and microwave oats just aren’t as good, but I a big bowl of oats just seemed heavy…a french toast sandwich would be over too quickly…A smoothie was nutritious enough, but I didn’t want anything cold and I have a lot of smoothies at school…  I was trying to have something lighter because I had a little too much dark chocolate last night and I really want to be able to fit into my favorite pair of jeans comfortably this winter.  I was completely at a loss as to what to make, so I went with my old stand-by that I knew was delicious AND nutritious enough to suit all my needs.  Oatmeal!  I thought it would be too heavy for my mood, but it turned out being fine.

 

Breakfast:

In my bowl: 1/3 oats, 1/3 cup skim milk, 1/2 large banana (I ate the other half while cooking), 1 tbsp flax, 1/2 tbsp chia, apple pie spice (to change it up from regular cinnamon), vanilla.  All of that topped with PB2 mixed with 1/2 tbsp of regular pb and agave nectar.  This bowl was pretty good, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as some other bowls.  It seemed to go cold faster than usual…  I used PB2 instead of regular pb today to go a bit lighter, but I half wish I had just left it off all together.  The agave nectar was good, but it got kind of lost and I wished I had used honey instead!

Side story: Whenever someone else has cereal for breakfast I ALWAYS have to have a little bite of it.  For example, when Dad gets the box of cheerios out, he automatically pours a tiny handful into my hand.  If he has wheat squares, he always finds me a double one and leaves it on the side for me.  I don’t know how this started, really, but it is a very pleasant part of breakfast time 😀

Therefore, I also had a small handful of cheerios and 2 hooked-together wheat squares.

I ate that around 8:30am, and around 11am I made a home-made pumpkin spice latte and had some grapes to hold me over until lunch!

 

Pumpkin Spice Latte:

-2 cups prepared coffee (use whatever your favorite regular coffee is – I used decaf)

-1/3 skim milk – preferably organic (1 or 2% milk would be good in this too, but we didn’t have any)

-1 heaping tbsp pumpkin puree

-1 packet of Truvia (more or less depending on how sweet you like it)

-shakes of pumpkin pie spice

Combine the milk, pumpkin, and spice in a small saucepan.  Stir it all up until it’s smoothly combined.  Heat on the stove until the milk is steamy.  Combine coffee and milk.  Smile.

I recommend keeping the spoon in the mug so you can stir it.  The pumpkin settles at the bottom if you don’t.

 

I’m down to all decaf now and I think I am officially off caffeine!  All I had yesterday was a cup of green tea.  I’ll have to wait a little bit longer to see if it makes a big difference in my mood during the afternoon, but I think it has so far.

I worked at drank my latte until 12:30pm when I went to lunch with my best friend!

 

Lunch:

We went to Island Pasta & Company for lunch.  I was looking forward to this lunch because I’d never been to this restaurant before, but I was a little disappointed.  I got the grilled chicken entree.  It came with grilled vegetables, fried plantains, and a piece of bread brushed with olive oil.  It came with a TON of chicken and about 4 thin slices of grilled zucchini.  I ate about 1/2 the chicken, all the zucchini, all the plantains, and the piece of bread plus 2 thin slices of pita bread.  The chicken was just ok and I would have preferred 10 times as many vegetables.  The fried plantains were SO. GOOD.  I enjoyed every last bite of them 😀

 

After eating, we wandered around and spent some time in Joann Fabrics.  Sadly, lunch wasn’t very filling so I ate a Lemon Bar Larabar a couple of hours later.  That did the trick and was perfectly full.  When I got home a few hours later, I was really tired and crashed on the couch for a half hour.  Then we did some house stuff and I ate a snack at 6:30pm of pretzels (about 12), a few popchips (about 15), carrots, and hummus.  It was so good and the perfect size “meal” after my late lunch/snack.  For dessert I had just a few dark chocolate chips.

 

Super Foods of the Day:

oats

banana

chia

flax

spices

pumpkin

pb

dark chocolate

carrots

hummus

 

Other Healthy Foods:

skim

coffee

agave

PB2

Larabar

chicken

 

Pretty good for a rest day!  I was on my feet a lot, though…

I’m off to go work on a little work before maybe reading in bed and turning the light out early for my long run tomorrow!  11 miles!

Leave a Reply

