Good Start, Tough End

I got up this morning after a lovely 9 hours of sleep!  I don’t get the best quality of sleep here at school, I always make sure to get enough quantity.  So, I was up at 7am to go for a run.  Before leaving I ate 8 Kashi crackers and 3 organic energy chews.  I was out the door by 7:30am.  My legs were feeling kind of tired, so I decided not to do a speed workout and try out the trails on campus.  I’m so glad I did!  It was beautiful with all the trees, the little lake, and the perfect temperature.  It was cloudy out, too, (big surprise) so it wasn’t too hot.

I ended up covering about 4 miles!  I did have to stop and walk a few times, though, because it was really muddy in places, the boardwalks were really slippery and crooked, and I was trying to figure out where to turn.  It was pretty wet and I had to turn back and go a different way a couple of times because of all the mud.  It was such a relaxing way to spend a Wednesday morning. 🙂

Photo          Photo          Photo

When I got back, I grabbed my breakfast from my fridge and dug in!

Breakfast:

Photo

Base: plain yogurt with cinnamon, a little Truvia, pumpkin, sliced banana

Topping: 1/4 cup Bear Naked Maple Pecan granola, 2 tbsp chopped walnuts, ~1/2 tbsp chia seeds, a pumpkin muffin that you can’t really see here

Enjoyed al fresco!  This was so. good. 8)

After filling my tummy, I showered, stretched, and got ready for the day.  I did a few things on my computer, too, before heading out for Philosophy.

Photo

I am really enjoying taking coffee/tea to class with me.  It makes it so much more enjoyable!  This cup was made with 3/4 decaf and 1/4 regular.  I’m almost completely off caffeine!  When I do get down to all decaf, that’s not to say that I will never have caffeinated coffee again, I just won’t have it every day.

Lunch:

Philosophy got out early today!  Woo hoo!  It actually gets out early most days, which is fine by me.  I made quick trip back to my room to grab my laptop and an apple, then went to the dining hall for lunch.  I actually wasn’t all that hungry for lunch because I ate breakfast a bit later than usual, but it was now or never.

Photo

Veggie gumbo over brown rice (!) + salad with egg, cranberries, greens, mushrooms, olive oil & vinegar + apple from my room

This was pretty good, but not the best.  The gumbo was super spicy, which was kind of okay because it made me eat it slowly.  The salad was good and the apple was just okay, too.

Lately I have figured out that I function much better with 3 square meals a day.  Not 6 snacks per day.  I don’t really know why, but I just feel better when I do that.  On Monday I went from 12:30pm to 7pm without anything to eat!  (I did get hungry around 6:30pm, but I was in the middle of yoga.)

After lunch, I went to stats (so mentally exhausting today!) then went to the library to do work until dinner time.  I had the intention of getting 3 things done and I only finished 1 and 1/2!!!  That’s not because I was lazy and did nothing, it’s because stats took me 2 hours to get half of the assignment done.  Ugh.  I did get my lab read and my philosophy paper brain-stormed, though.

Snack:

Roasted nut roll Uber bar.  I worked and ate at the same time.

I was planning on going to dinner around 6, but I never actually felt “satisfied” from lunch/snack and I needed a mental break from all the homework, so I went to dinner at 5:15pm instead.

Dinner:

Photo

Salad with greens, mushrooms, carrots, cheddar, 1/2 egg, cranberries, broccoli, vinegar & about 2 tsp. honey mustard dressing.  I cut up the black bean burger and put it on top.  Served with a wheat roll, which I could tell had been sitting in the case for a while…

It was good, I’m just getting a little tired of salads.  I LOVE salad, but I eat it every. single. day.  Most of the time twice a day.  It’s easy to find something healthy in the dining hall – it’s not easy to find different healthy things in the dining hall.

Now, I need to see if I can finish stats before heading back to the room and getting ready for tomorrow.  I have a big day – the orchestra is playing at a hotel downtown!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Edited to add that I had a mini peppermint pattie when I got back to the room.  I wanted dessert REALLY badly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

