Pumpkin Obsessed

Get ready, because pumpkin was involved in every meal today 8)

I got to sleep in this morning! Yay!  I hate sleeping in when I’m at school for some reason, so it was nice to get some extra sleep today.

 

Breakfast:

I was going to make a nice breakfast this morning but seeing as I woke up later than usual (around 8:30am), I realized that by the time I actually made something, it would be at least 9:30am and I was already really hungry.  So, I nixed that idea and decided to make something quicker, but still really yummy: oatmeal!  🙂  To make it more special, though, I put some extra stuff in it.  I actually stood in the kitchen for quite a while trying to decide what I wanted.  Dad was having toasted waffles with pb and honey and that sounded good, but I wanted a big bowl of oatmeal, too….  So I combined them!

20131102_092241

In the pan: 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup milk, 1 cup water (my stove runs super hot and it cooks too quickly if I don’t put that much in), dash of salt, 1/2 really large banana, 1/2 tbsp chia.

Post-cooking, I turned off the heat and stirred in 1/3 cup 2% cottage cheese, big dollop of pumpkin puree, 1 tbsp ground flax,  dash of apple pie spice (we didn’t have any pumpkin pie spice), and a splash of vanilla extract.

On top of the oats, I plopped on some pb (I didn’t measure, but probably not quite 1 tbsp) and honey drizzle (again, I didn’t measure, but probably a little more than 1/2 tbsp).  WOW that was a lot of ingredients!

20131102_092306

See the honey puddles to the left!?  SO, so good.  I took the first bite and said out loud “I think this is one of the best bowls of oatmeal I’ve ever made.”  I loved all the different flavors and textures.

I love stove-top oats way more than the microwave oats I make in my dorm room…. *sigh*  Microwave oats just aren’t as creamy.

After breakfast, Dad and I took my doggie on a short walk, then I got down to work for a little bit.  I finished a Health online quiz and a bio lab post-lab quiz!

 

Lunch:

That breakfast lasted me to 1pm!  I decided to get a little creative for lunch today, seeing as I had an entire kitchen at my fingertips.

 20131102_125512

WW wrap w/ laughing cow cheese wedge, pumpkin, spring mix lettuce, mushrooms sauteed in about 1/2 tbsp olive oil + about 3/4 cup 2% cottage cheese (we ran out of yogurt!) with apple pie spice and golden raisins mixed in.  Afterwards, I added some crumbled Kashi Autumn Wheat cereal to the top.  That made it SO much better!

After adding cereal:

20131102_130433

(Side note: I don’t know why some pictures are sideways.  It’s driving me nuts!)

I worked for a little bit longer after lunch before I realized that the house was quiet and the kitchen was calling to me.  So, I made the pumpkin bread that I originally wanted to make last night.

Afterwards, I went to Publix to get dinner ingredients.

 

Dinner:

Butternut squash soup + salad + pumpkin bread

20131102_170026

The soup wasn’t as good as the first time I had it, but it was still good for a quick soup!  I added cinnamon and a tad of cocoa powder to the soup for some spice.  The salad was just simple spring mix with reduced fat feta and an equal-part-honey-mustard dressing.  The bread was by far the highlight, though!  I followed the recipe from Eating Bird Food.  I followed it exactly except I replaced 1/4 cup of the sugar with the equivalent of Truvia (1tbsp + 2tsp).  I also didn’t have any WW pastry flour so I followed her recommendation and used 1 cup all purpose and 2/3 cup WW.  It turned out fabulously and got 2 thumbs up from everyone!  I went back for another 1/3 of a piece.

I didn’t realize that I had pumpkin at every meal until after dinner!  Ha!

 

Evening with Friends:

After dinner I went on a walk with Dad and on the way home we saw my best friend outside!  I ended up going over to her house across the street because her parents fixed up her mom’s old violin for her and she wanted me to help her tune it.  We had such fun playing around.  I taught her how to tune it and how to read a few notes!  Afterwards, I left while they ate dinner, but they invited me back later that evening for homemade apple pie.  Oh my goodness.  Talk about apple yummy pie.  It was different than normal pie because it was made in a cast iron skillet and then placed in the oven.  It had a thin crispy crust on top as opposed to a thick one.  No picture because it was a social occasion and I didn’t think it was right.  I was just enjoying being with some of my best friends.  I had a small serving, and I estimated it to be about 300 calories, but I honestly have no idea of the exact amount.

Now I’m off to bed in preparation for my long run tomorrow.  10 miles!

Leave a Reply

