Rest Day Workouts

I know: the title contradicts itself.  But trust me, it will make sense in a minute!

Rest days are important.  Very important.  In fact, they are just as important as workout days because they allow your body to reset.  But I hate them!  Does anyone else hate them?  I crave exercise all the time.  Even if I’m tired, I feel the need to move in some way or another.

I also hate rest days because I feel sluggish all day because I haven’t been moving to burn anything off.

Image

I know they are important and my body needs to rest to prevent injury and take a breather.

But I have found a way to keep moving, and take a rest from working out at the same time.

I present (drum roll, please…): rest day challenges!

Basically, on a rest day, for every hour that you are awake, complete a set of one of your favorite (or least favorite!) exercises.  For example, the first time I did this I did 10 push ups every hour from 8AM to 9PM.  By the end of the day, I had done over 100 pushups!  How many people can say that they have done that?  The possibilities with this are endless as you can do push ups, sit ups, lunges, squats, planks, burpees, anything!

Some of my favorites:

  • 10 push ups
  • 60 sec. plank
  • 20 crunches
  • 10 lunges
  • 10 burpees

These exercises don’t only keep you from getting restless from lack of exercise, but it also keeps your metabolism up all day long.  And you don’t even feel like you’ve done anything hard!  Awesomeness.

And the best part?  Bragging rights the next day when you can say, “I did 200 sit ups,” or “I completed 100 burpees yesterday.”

Try it and get back to me on you opinion!

Do you like rest days?

Do you crave exercise?

Leave a Reply

