Memorial Day

Good morning! I hope your 3 day weekend was wonderful and relaxing!

Yesterday started out my favorite way: food and exercise

Before working out, I ate a peanut butter chocolate chip Larabar and some dates with peanut butter. (I forgot to take a pic, sorry!)

For my workout, I ran 5 miles then did some absercizes (yes, a word combo of abs and exercises).

Breakfast

Post-workout, I made this yummy goodness: an egg scramble with spinach, red peppers, tomatoes, and feta cheese.  Banana and coffee on the side 🙂

100_4216

Lunch

For the rest of the afternoon, I was busy helping prep for family coming over later and, therefore, did not take pics of my lunch (Bad, Addie).

But, in words, I had a salad with hummus and homemade apple cider vinegar dressing with a light mini Babybel cheese on the side.

Snack

100_4213

Homemade guacamole (1/2 avocado + 2 wedges garlic and herb Laughing Cow cheese + 1 tbsp lemon juice + salt/pepper) and crackers.

I actually had more crackers than is pictured here.

This snack was fantastic with a good combo of healthy fats and carbohydrates to keep me full until dinner!  Yay!

Dinner

For appetizers before dinner, I an array of chips, dips, and fruit.

100_4218

I had some of the crackers and dip that I prepared and a BOATLOAD of fruit.

100_4224

The dip is Julie’s goat cheese and honey dip and it was really good!  I made it with feta because it is similar, but it didn’t turn out like it should have.  I’ll know better next time!

100_4221

Served with organic wheat crackers.

100_4223

For the main meal, we had grilled hot dogs, hamburgers, teriyaki chicken, chicken + veg. kabobs, cheesy potatoes (family recipe), green beans, baked beans, and sugar snap peas (and I know I am forgetting something else).

My plate:

100_4226

 

Yum!

Dessert

My family has a little bit of a fascination with the games charades and Apples to Apples, so of course we had to play a game of Apples to Apples before dessert.  (I won 🙂

We had peanut butter pie, pumpkin pie, and some chocolate cookies that I made for dessert.

100_4217

I had two cookies plus a cup of green tea and called it a night.

Lovely day!

Question:

How was your memorial day?

 

Leave a Reply

